Back to previous page

How to Restore Items from the Recycle Bin in SharePoint 2016

Log In to Watch How to Video Now
How to Restore Items from the Recycle Bin in SharePoint 2016


To restore an item that you have deleted from a list or document library, just go to the Recycle Bin, select the item, click Restore, and then Ok in the confirmation box.
Once restored, the item appears in its original location.

The Recycle Bin link is listed on the Quick Launch bar on the left of the screen. If it’s not, access it by going to Settings and Site Content. If it’s not still, ask the administrator to change the Recycle Bin Settings.

Deleted items stay in the Recycle Bin for a limited period of time, after which it is automatically sent to the Site Collection Recycle Bin where it will do the same.
Only the Site Collection administrator can restore an item from the Site Collection Recycle Bin.
See the steps in the short video below.

This video is a help item from VisualSP, the plug-and-play add-on application that provides end-users with context-sensitive instant help at the exact moment of completing a task in SharePoint and Office 365. To see how it works, see a live demo at: VisualSP.com

About the Author:

Asif Rehmani has been a SharePoint Trainer, Consultant, Author, and a SharePoint Server MVP since 2007. He’s the founder of VisualSP Help System.

VisualSP provides just-in-time learning and help through proprietary help system software. Also, the website hosts a variety of training videos authored by renowned experts in the industry.

Over the years, Asif has provided SharePoint consulting and training to major clients such as Department of Defense, NASA, Hersheys, Toshiba, State Farm, Federal Home Loan Bank, US Army and many more.

 

 

Video Transcript:

Items that are deleted from a list or library end up in this site recycle bin to get to the recycle bin a site member or a owner would go to site contents and then click on recycle bin and as it says there are three items currently in the recycle bin here are the items now this icon here says that this these items will stay here for thirty days and after that they will automatically get emptied out then from here it actually goes into the site collection recycle bin and only the site collection administrator at that point in time can restore those items if I wanted to go ahead and restore an item from this recycle bin I would go to the item and click on restore selection confirm by clicking on ok and now this item should end up in the team links list where it originally was and there it is it was the MSN item which had been deleted which I now went ahead and restored.

Share this on...
Log In